The UK Home Automation Archive

Archive Home
Group Home
Search Archive


Advanced Search

[Message Prev][Message Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Message Index][Thread Index]

Re: Digest Number 103


  • Subject: Re: Digest Number 103
  • From: Stuart Lee
  • Date: Thu, 16 May 2002 07:41:00 +0000

Does anyone know roughly when the new Kat5 products will be ready?
I will be ready to cable my new house in August but I need to know exactly
what I am going to be
wiring for.
I was thinking about at least a double cat5 socket in each room, 1 infra
red
receiver in the main rooms, hard wired to node zero
and connected to a xantech block.
speaker cable in each room.
I dont know whether to bother with co-ax or not.


Stu.

----- Original Message -----
From: <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>>
To: <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>>
Sent: Thursday, May 16, 2002 3:27 AM
Subject: [KAT5] Digest Number 103


>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_cbhLQCtmao1-589HyI3a7xwgRk2HqXrUiEjJf6D4ToA-X1ovG22N3xLk2ELu7OVQlxfC2VsRUa_Q0xMy9NJQyDBUx-L2q4ywD2e">kat5-users-unsubscribe@xxxxxxx</a>
>
>
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> There are 9 messages in this issue.
>
> Topics in this digest:
>
> 1. Re: [OT] Hum on Phone.....was RE: Advice on sending video and
audio around my house ... ?
> From: "tefxp" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=bAiGKRo-TvCrcI39iYkh-JjJZbjSEpVK33z_lSgQd2UFh5MTWrC233z1SnMkviEK4awMSuKxmNSCj8N7iGk">ukha_d@a...</a>>
> 2. Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> From: "graham_howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
> 3. RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> 4. RE: Advice on sending video and audio around my house ... ?
> From: "Marcus Warrington" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>>
> 5. RE: How can I tell if its CT100 cable ?
> From: "Marcus Warrington" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>>
> 6. RE: RE: Advice on sending video and audio around my house ... ?
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> 7. Re: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> From: "graham_howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
> 8. RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> 9. RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> From: "Graham Howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 09:35:11 -0000
> From: "tefxp" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=bAiGKRo-TvCrcI39iYkh-JjJZbjSEpVK33z_lSgQd2UFh5MTWrC233z1SnMkviEK4awMSuKxmNSCj8N7iGk">ukha_d@a...</a>>
> Subject: Re: [OT] Hum on Phone.....was RE: Advice on sending video and
audio around my house ... ?
>
> --- In kat5-users@y..., "Keith Doxey"
<keith.doxey@b...> wrote:
> > A phone line is balanced as well. When it becomes unbalanced due
to
> a fault
> > on the line, that is when you hear all the hum and other
> conversations.
>
> I see. I thought it was because the builder put some of the wires
> too near the mains wiring - there are two runs in particular that I'm
> not sure how he routed and when I connect them into the circut, the
> hum increases significantly, whereas adding others only slightly
> increases it. They are probably the two longest runs too if that
> contributes to matters......
>
> > You may be picking up interference because of the way you have
> patched it.
> > The phone wiring should be on 4&amp;5 the Blue/White pair and
the bell
> wire on
> > the Orange on Pin2 if you have patched it to the correct standard
> for
> > structured cabling and are using the plug in adaptors.
>
> Umm.. dunno. Will have to check. I remember not being able to find
> any info on connecting RJ11 to RJ45 so I probably went with using
> similar colours to what was in a phone lead or something :)
>
> I am using master socket adpaters throughout though....
>
> > Moving myself away from the dimmer, or the phone away from my
mouth
> > deacreses the hum as well.
>
> <LOL> - image of you standing in one corner of the room as far
frmo
> the dimmer as possible, shouting at your phone another corner of the
> room :)
>
> cheers,
>
>
> Tony
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 10:41:53 -0000
> From: "graham_howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
> Subject: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
> Is this possible for someone who last year progressed from zero
> knowledge to finally working out which end of a soldering iron to use
> (hint for those still on the learning curve: hold the cold end!). I
> was also wondering if it would be possible (with a little case
> manipulation) to mount a double adapter or recond RJ45 in the unit at
> the same time.
>
> Graham
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 12:27:21 +0100
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> Subject: RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
> Graham,
>
> The RXU only differs from an RX by the ommision of 4 resistors.
>
> To use an RXU you need to either hardwire two CAT5 cables onto an RJ45
> outlet or use an RJ45 doubler. There physically isnt the space to
mount a
> second RJ45 on the KAT5 itself and without cutting a chunk out of the
case,
> a double wont fit the socket on the KAT5.
>
> The way to use the doubler is to place it in one half of a double
faceplate
> and run one lead to the other socket, one lead to the KAT5
>
> The attached image shows the resistors to remove.
>
> Hope that helps
>
> Keith
>
> www.diyha.co.uk
> www.kat5.tv
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: graham_howe [mailto:<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>]
> Sent: 15 May 2002 11:42
> To: <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>
> Subject: [KAT5] Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
>
> Is this possible for someone who last year progressed from zero
> knowledge to finally working out which end of a soldering iron to use
> (hint for those still on the learning curve: hold the cold end!). I
> was also wondering if it would be possible (with a little case
> manipulation) to mount a double adapter or recond RJ45 in the unit at
> the same time.
>
> Graham
>
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_cbhLQCtmao1-589HyI3a7xwgRk2HqXrUiEjJf6D4ToA-X1ovG22N3xLk2ELu7OVQlxfC2VsRUa_Q0xMy9NJQyDBUx-L2q4ywD2e">kat5-users-unsubscribe@xxxxxxx</a>
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to <a href="http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/";>http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/</a>
>
>
>
> [This message contained attachments]
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 12:30:44 +0100
> From: "Marcus Warrington" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>>
> Subject: RE: Advice on sending video and audio around my house ... ?
>
> Wow.. thanks for all the replies :)
>
> I'm receiving this email list in digest mode so I've only just read
> all the advice and discussion generated.
>
> * "tefxp" writes ;
> >Seems you got the short end of the stick then :)
>
> Yeah.. but its not too bad because all the cable runs are planned and
> conduit has already been plastered "into" the walls to allow
drops
> from the attic rooms to Node0 etc. All in all it "should" be
reasonably
> straight forward... I hope :)
>
> > Why bother keeping RF at all if you're looking at KAT5 - or is it
a
> > case of keeping your options open?
>
> Well basically its down to cost !
>
> The house has a total of 14 rooms that "could" have a TV in
them
> (not including the bathroom/showerroom). The RF cable allows me
> to have a TV in any room that can receive any (terrestrial) channel
> it wants. The Kat5 will be used for more "important" stuff
like
> sending DVD or DigitalTV from Node0 to the "AV Channel" of
the
> main TV's (i.e. Living room / Master bedroom / Study). The kids
> rooms would still be fed via RF and I'm thinking of maybe sending
> the DigitalTV stuff through and old VCR to modulate it onto a
> "spare" channel as well... I doubt that they would even
notice
> the difference in quality :)
>
> > Personally, I put double RF sockets in all the rooms
>
> As I said this "was" my original intention but after some
> hard decision making I decided that I probably wouldn't
> have VCR's etc in each room that needed piping down to
> Node0 for distribution, rather I'd have all the equipment
> housed in Node0 itself and pipe it around the house.
> At worse case I will physically still have 2 RF's per
> room, its just that they are physically in opposite
> corners of the room...
>
> > at least a foot from the CAT 5 sockets.
>
> >From what I've read I don't think this is necessary.
>
> I mean we all know that you shouldn't run Cat5 next to
> mains cable right.. but if look under my desk now I can
> see about 3 foot of cat5 cable connecting my PC to the
> LAN and its tangled up with 5 power cords.. and all
> working fine !
>
> > Clever huh? Nope. I should have gone for satellite cable
> > like CT100, so haven't quite got the ultimate flexibility
>
> Haa harr.. I'm OK on that one.. I HAVE specified CT100.. :)
>
> > Though ask Ken Watt in the main UKHA group all about
retro-fitting
> > inline modules......
>
> Sorry for asking dumb questions but what is this "main UKHA
group"
> is it an email list ?
>
> > The cunning plan with the switcher will be to switch any 8
sources
> > into any 1 or more of 8 destinations.
>
> Hey this sounds cool !
> Is this planned to be controllable via IR .. how about IP ?
>
> * "Mark Harrison" Writes ..
> > The module that you're thinking of is one to carry an SP/DIF
signal -
> > ie to a remote decoder.
>
> Sorry.. dumb question again.. is this sp/dif signal something
different
> from a normal audio signal. Would it be possible to transmit the
sp/dif
> signal over a cat5 cable via a Kat5 box and would that a different
> box than the one for 4 channel audio ?
>
> Ideally I'd love to have the house wired such that each room has a
speaker
> in each corner and each room could (at the flick of a button or the
press
> of a touch screen) either play from a local source, TV audio (stereo
or
> 5.1)
> , or whole house audio. Problem is cost :)
>
> * "Keith Doxey" writes ;
> >Tony and Mark have answered most of the points and its good to
have the
> > answers given by satisfied customers :-)
>
> Certainly inspires "future" customers :)
>
> > KAT5 can be custom built to ANY mix of Audio and Video in either
direction
> > subject to a maximum of 4 circuits in a unit. This is because
each
circuit
> > uses one pair in the CAT4 cable and there are only 4 pairs.
>
> Mmm.. would it not be possible to build a unit that was completely
user
> configurable then. i.e. it had 4 audio and 2 video encoder/decoder
circuit
> and the user simply flipped a dip switch or something to configure
> which 4 circuits to use ? Sorry if that's obviously a dumb question
but
> from a "user" perspective it seems very versatile and means
I wouldn't
> be "painted into a corner" at some later date...
>
> > Your RF cables should not cause any problems as they a receiving
signals
> > rather than transmitting them so the signal levels are only
microvolts.
> Also
> > despite my best efforts at introducing interference to KAT5 I
have
failed
> > miserably :-)
>
> So I should be OK to run RF cable under the floorboards back to Node0
in
the
> same conduit as my Cat5 ?
>
> What about speaker cable.. I assume this is similar to mains.. i.e.
keep
> away
> from cat5 ?
>
> > So much so that I did a demonstration to Mark McCall where I
DELIBERATELY
> > connected the output of a CD player to the CAT5 cable to cause
> interference
>
> Impressive ! Is this resilience a product of your Kat5's or the cat5
> standard ?
>
> * "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> > You may be picking up interference because of the way you have
patched
it.
> > The phone wiring should be on 4&amp;5 the Blue/White pair and
the bell wire
on
> > the Orange on Pin2 if you have patched it to the correct standard
for
> > structured cabling and are using the plug in adaptors.
>
> OK, that brings up the question of what is the "correct"
standard for
> structured cabling ? I was thinking about punching my patch panels
> to 586B standard (since that's what our engineer at work said we use
> here).. how does this effect anything. Presumable how ever I punch
> it down at the patch panel (586B) should be mirrored at the RJ45
Socket
> end i.e. straight through connections.
>
> Thanks for all the help guys :)
>
> Marcus
>
>
.---------.-------.-v---------.-------.--..--------------------------------.
>  : \.~~~./ : : \.~~~./ : Marcus J Warrington BSc (Hons)

>  .. Y o. .o Y  .. Y o. .o Y Senior Analyst Programmer

>  :: : (@) :  :: : (@) : MIS PTS Ltd

>  `. ~~__~\ `._!_./  `.~~__\`._!_.'/

>  : : `~'Y  : : `~' Y Phone :(+44) (0)845 330 4325

>  ; ; D \  ; ; D \ Email :<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>

>  : . !  : . !
>------------------------------<
>  : . ; !  : . ; !  FreeView : WallEyed

>  ; :~__\ / !  ; :~_\ /: !  ***WARNING*** This .sig is

> / ;'! / Y / : !  / ;' ! /Y / : !  protected by 3D Guard Dogs

> : . !: : ! : ! : . !: : ! : !
>------------------------------<
> : :. `:. : ! : ! : :. `:.: ! : !  The opinions herein are my own

> `.i' : ! . `..`.i' : ! . `.. and , unless explicitly
stated,
>  ; `. `~'' ; `. `~'' may not represent those of MIS

>
`---------`ii'------^---------`ii'-------'`--------------------------------'
>
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 5
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 12:32:40 +0100
> From: "Marcus Warrington" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>>
> Subject: RE: How can I tell if its CT100 cable ?
>
> * "tefxp" writes ;
> > (so how _can_ I tell? It's white, that's all I know!)
>
> I'm no expert but doesn't the CT100 have a metallic foil wrapper
> under the copper braid ? If your cable doesn't have the foil wrapper
> then I would assume it isn't CT100 (or CT125)...
>
> All CT100 cable I've ever seen has been black (as opposed to
"normal"
> brown), the ONLY white RF cable I've seen has been interconnecting
> cables.
>
> Marcus
>
>
.---------.-------.-v---------.-------.--..--------------------------------.
>  : \.~~~./ : : \.~~~./ : Marcus J Warrington BSc (Hons)

>  .. Y o. .o Y  .. Y o. .o Y Senior Analyst Programmer

>  :: : (@) :  :: : (@) : MIS PTS Ltd

>  `. ~~__~\ `._!_./  `.~~__\`._!_.'/

>  : : `~'Y  : : `~' Y Phone :(+44) (0)845 330 4325

>  ; ; D \  ; ; D \ Email :<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>

>  : . !  : . !
>------------------------------<
>  : . ; !  : . ; !  FreeView : WallEyed

>  ; :~__\ / !  ; :~_\ /: !  ***WARNING*** This .sig is

> / ;'! / Y / : !  / ;' ! /Y / : !  protected by 3D Guard Dogs

> : . !: : ! : ! : . !: : ! : !
>------------------------------<
> : :. `:. : ! : ! : :. `:.: ! : !  The opinions herein are my own

> `.i' : ! . `..`.i' : ! . `.. and , unless explicitly
stated,
>  ; `. `~'' ; `. `~'' may not represent those of MIS

>
`---------`ii'------^---------`ii'-------'`--------------------------------'
>
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 6
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 12:47:22 +0100
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> Subject: RE: RE: Advice on sending video and audio around my house ...
?
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Marcus Warrington [mailto:<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=IsLkaoht-1Hx2wiKFwwdsw82fGR5XLxtrfoSZRXOSfcNLGIcHKlnamyH0fBWXvIQ0fa8iHzJZ-aNC6INCX0">marcusw@m...</a>]
> Sent: 15 May 2002 12:31
> To: <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>
> Subject: [KAT5] RE: Advice on sending video and audio around my house
> ... ?
>
>
> > Why bother keeping RF at all if you're looking at KAT5 - or is it
a
> > case of keeping your options open?
>
> Well basically its down to cost !
>
> [KD] You should always have some coax whilst you still have TV's with
> Tuners.
>
>
> > The cunning plan with the switcher will be to switch any 8
sources
> > into any 1 or more of 8 destinations.
>
> Hey this sounds cool !
> Is this planned to be controllable via IR .. how about IP ?
>
>
> [KD] There will be a Web interface as well
>
>
> > KAT5 can be custom built to ANY mix of Audio and Video in either
direction
> > subject to a maximum of 4 circuits in a unit. This is because
each
circuit
> > uses one pair in the CAT4 cable and there are only 4 pairs.
>
> Mmm.. would it not be possible to build a unit that was completely
user
> configurable then. i.e. it had 4 audio and 2 video encoder/decoder
circuit
> and the user simply flipped a dip switch or something to configure
> which 4 circuits to use ? Sorry if that's obviously a dumb question
but
> from a "user" perspective it seems very versatile and means
I wouldn't
> be "painted into a corner" at some later date...
>
> [KD] it would be possible but it would require a larger unit and would
be
> more expensive.
>
> > So much so that I did a demonstration to Mark McCall where I
DELIBERATELY
> > connected the output of a CD player to the CAT5 cable to cause
> interference
>
> Impressive ! Is this resilience a product of your Kat5's or the cat5
> standard ?
>
> [KD] It demonstrates the principle of Balanced Transmission and its
inherant
> resiliance to interference
>
> * "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> > You may be picking up interference because of the way you have
patched
it.
> > The phone wiring should be on 4&amp;5 the Blue/White pair and
the bell wire
on
> > the Orange on Pin2 if you have patched it to the correct standard
for
> > structured cabling and are using the plug in adaptors.
>
> OK, that brings up the question of what is the "correct"
standard for
> structured cabling ? I was thinking about punching my patch panels
> to 586B standard (since that's what our engineer at work said we use
> here).. how does this effect anything. Presumable how ever I punch
> it down at the patch panel (586B) should be mirrored at the RJ45
Socket
> end i.e. straight through connections.
>
> [KD] if you stick to either 568A or 568B (the only difference is the
colour
> code, electrically they are identical) then you shouldnt have any
problems
> whatsoever
>
> Keith
>
> www.diyha.co.uk
> www.kat5.tv
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 7
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 11:54:21 -0000
> From: "graham_howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
> Subject: Re: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
> --- In kat5-users@y..., "Keith Doxey"
<keith.doxey@b...> wrote:
> > Graham,
> >
> > The RXU only differs from an RX by the ommision of 4 resistors.
> >
> > To use an RXU you need to either hardwire two CAT5 cables onto an
> RJ45
> > outlet or use an RJ45 doubler. There physically isnt the space to
> mount a
> > second RJ45 on the KAT5 itself and without cutting a chunk out of
> the case,
> > a double wont fit the socket on the KAT5.
> >
> > The way to use the doubler is to place it in one half of a double
> faceplate
> > and run one lead to the other socket, one lead to the KAT5
> >
> > The attached image shows the resistors to remove.
> >
> > Hope that helps
> >
> > Keith
>
> Thanks Keith,
>
> I had already read the stuff on your site about the adapter not
> fitting, but I was trying to avoid having it dangling out of the wall
> plate. But if there isn't any space inside the units then I guess
> that will be the only solution.
>
> The diagram is indeed helpful, but it got me thinking. Would it be
> possible (again space might be a problem) to fit 4 dip switches
> to 'short' across each of the resistors so that I end up with a unit
> that can be AVS-RX or AVS-RXU. The reason I ask is that when (note I
> didn't say if ;-)) the switcher is available, I assume I will need
> AVS-RX units rather than AVS-RXU.
>
> Regards
>
> Graham
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 8
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 13:05:48 +0100
> From: "Keith Doxey" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>>
> Subject: RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
> Once IR is released there will be an upgrade for existing units.
>
> There will be redesigned units for new production. These will
incorporate
> switchable termination.
>
> The switches will DISCONNECT the termination resistors NOT short them
> otherwise the signals would be terminated by a short.
>
> Shorting the resistors would guarantee that no unwanted noise would
get
> through, but unfortunately it would also mean that the wanted signal
would
> not get through either!!!
>
> Keith
>
> www.diyha.co.uk
> www.kat5.tv
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: graham_howe [mailto:<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>]
> Sent: 15 May 2002 12:54
> To: <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>
> Subject: Re: [KAT5] Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
>
> --- In kat5-users@y..., "Keith Doxey"
<keith.doxey@b...> wrote:
> > Graham,
> >
> > The RXU only differs from an RX by the ommision of 4 resistors.
> >
> > To use an RXU you need to either hardwire two CAT5 cables onto an
> RJ45
> > outlet or use an RJ45 doubler. There physically isnt the space to
> mount a
> > second RJ45 on the KAT5 itself and without cutting a chunk out of
> the case,
> > a double wont fit the socket on the KAT5.
> >
> > The way to use the doubler is to place it in one half of a double
> faceplate
> > and run one lead to the other socket, one lead to the KAT5
> >
> > The attached image shows the resistors to remove.
> >
> > Hope that helps
> >
> > Keith
>
> Thanks Keith,
>
> I had already read the stuff on your site about the adapter not
> fitting, but I was trying to avoid having it dangling out of the wall
> plate. But if there isn't any space inside the units then I guess
> that will be the only solution.
>
> The diagram is indeed helpful, but it got me thinking. Would it be
> possible (again space might be a problem) to fit 4 dip switches
> to 'short' across each of the resistors so that I end up with a unit
> that can be AVS-RX or AVS-RXU. The reason I ask is that when (note I
> didn't say if ;-)) the switcher is available, I assume I will need
> AVS-RX units rather than AVS-RXU.
>
> Regards
>
> Graham
>
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_cbhLQCtmao1-589HyI3a7xwgRk2HqXrUiEjJf6D4ToA-X1ovG22N3xLk2ELu7OVQlxfC2VsRUa_Q0xMy9NJQyDBUx-L2q4ywD2e">kat5-users-unsubscribe@xxxxxxx</a>
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to <a href="http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/";>http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/</a>
>
>
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
> Message: 9
> Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 16:07:11 +0100
> From: "Graham Howe" <<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=fExPHjwgMJZaJ6FPZQ89M6liI4KdyTcXJlte5Q0PjGCAR8y1adRbsLt_aU7jVtqF1l2vGSc_rdCxPkWA90o">graham@s...</a>>
> Subject: RE: Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Keith Doxey [mailto:<a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=_gXEPAOfI9NOZwxSnu2Kxe10JYC514F5TJH5NgHxvVijq7D6CLM3tX_0y3czrpC8fUUHUFiM2_E7JV28ezc-Leormfmn">keith.doxey@b...</a>]
> > Sent: 15 May 2002 13:06
> > To: <a
href="/group/kat5-users/post?postID=GnA9EI3fANMcgp1l-vGt2ZtoApmOt6qnLqGZf4hLS34af1tZpHEGA4XKSUncTQAfbFL-9iDSbmJADz6gSnWyTg">kat5-users@xxxxxxx</a>
> > Subject: RE: [KAT5] Converting KAT5 AVS-RX to KAT5 AVS-RXU
> >
> >
> > Once IR is released there will be an upgrade for existing units.
> >
> > There will be redesigned units for new production. These will
> > incorporate switchable termination.
> >
> > The switches will DISCONNECT the termination resistors NOT
> > short them otherwise the signals would be terminated by a short.
> >
> > Shorting the resistors would guarantee that no unwanted noise
> > would get through, but unfortunately it would also mean that
> > the wanted signal would not get through either!!!
> >
> > Keith
> >
>
> I was wondering if you noticed my deliberate mistake about thew
function
> of the switches ;-)
>
> Graham (publicly showing his electronic stupidity again)
>
>
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
________________________________________________________________________
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to <a href="http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/";>http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/</a>
>
>






KAT5 Main Index | KAT5 Thread Index | KAT5 Home | Archives Home

Comments to the Webmaster are always welcomed, please use this contact form . Note that as this site is a mailing list archive, the Webmaster has no control over the contents of the messages. Comments about message content should be directed to the relevant mailing list.